Gluten-Free Vegan Coconut Chocolates

Standard

One of my favourite combinations, coconut and chocolate. Plus, these are extremely easy to make & very yummy, too! They seem to be disappearing out of my fridge.

I am not sure if you can really go wrong with chocolate and coconut. I have followed a few recipes or come up with my own, and they always turn out delicious. I cannot seem to find my recipe at the moment, but I have even made a raw vegan version using a young coconut. I used to love Almond Joys and Bounty Bars, and these are the perfect vegan treats that remind me of them. This time, I was inspired by Tasty Yummies.

I have a very small mini muffin case and a slightly bigger one. I mixed 1 1/4 cup of shredded coconut, 1/4 cup of melted coconut oil, 2 TBLS agave (any vegan sweetener should be fine), and 1 tsp vanilla extract. I am sure that they would pop out alright from these, but you can grease them with coconut oil if you like. Then I packed the coconut mixture down into all 12 spots and popped them in the freezer. Easy peasy.
vegan almond joyAfter waiting for about 45 minutes, I popped each one out and set an almond on top of each. Now onto melting chocolate.
vegan almond joyThe recipe called for chocolate chips, but you can really use any sort of vegan chocolate. A block of dark Whittakers is the perfect amount. I debated about making some adjustments as I often find that melted chocolate is always a bit melty while you are trying to eat whatever you have made, but I decided to keep it simple. I knew that they would be yummy either way, even if I ended up with chocolate on my fingers.

I melted my chocolate, poured some into the 12 slots of the slightly bigger muffin case, popped each of the frozen coconut mix and almonds down, and then covered them with more chocolate. I thought this might be the easiest way, but the original recipe suggests using a fork to dip into the chocolate which would also work. If you do it this way, leave the almond out, dip in the chocolate, place the almond on top, and then pour chocolate over. Once all of mine were covered, I placed them back into the fridge to harden for another 45 minutes or so.
vegan bounty bar
Yum! I decided to keep these in the fridge and have been noticing them disappearing. They really are that yummy. Oh, how I love chocolate and coconut. These are definitely worth making, and the hardest part is probably being patient while you wait for them to set in the freezer and fridge. Enjoy!

20 responses »

  1. Stunning! I am inspired to make Easter treats now. The silicone molds in different sizes is ingenious! I love chocolate and coconut too.
    I hope all is well with you and your belly bub ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks so much for posting, Beth! Chocolate and coconut is just the best. I spotted them in one of my searches and just knew I had to try your recipe ๐Ÿ™‚ A bit of a quick post as lots of people were waiting to see how I made these, but I need to go back looking through your blog to see some of your other posts. Did you use a chocolate that was not as melty when eating it?

  2. My coconut cups are in the freezer now! Last night I was wondering how to make them. I only had regular sized silicone cups. Today, while shopping, I noticed some mini silicone cups on sale- so I snapped them up. I’ll do the chocolate part tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I made these yesterday after reading this. Although not nearly as pretty & professional looking as yours, they were yummy! Even Roman had one & he hardly ever tries my creations LOL By the time we sat down for a cup of tea after the boys were in bed they were all gone! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Glad you made them and that even Roman ate one! As long as they are yummy, that is all that matters ๐Ÿ™‚ Aha, ya they are a bit addicting. I was pretty good at keeping them to myself, and they still did not last long.

  4. Pingback: Coconut filled chocolate Easter eggs | AfricanKiwi

Leave a comment