Fort & Teepee

Standard

peek a boo

A few chairs, a blanket, and some beautiful sarongs…our lounge was transformed into a magical place.

peek a boo

Zaedyn was full of excitement as he ran in and out of his new hiding place. Yes, with only one gumboot! I could not help smiling and playing along as I saw his big smiles and listened to his never ending giggles. They really are the best! We spent the entire morning playing in his new fort. He definitely had a few tickles whenever I found him.

teepee

If that wasn’t enough excitement for one day, we decided to search our garage for some of the bamboo that David cut down for us. It was quite difficult trying to put our teepee together with little hands to help, but I love that he was so curious and interested in building our teepee. I literally just took some twine and wrapped it around lots of different ways. It worked for us. The bamboo alone was exciting, but I knew we had to find some sort of cover. Hmmm…

teepee

Yip, our Winter sheet will do. We hopefully won’t be needing it for awhile anyways! Wrapped around and tucked under the twine, it completed our teepee and another new hiding place.

teepee

After a bit of playing around, Zaedyn was telling me, “Yoga,” and went looking for the yoga mat. I helped roll it out, and we found his yoga book. He was super excited about the tree pose that he is still doing it in the picture once I turned the page. I love hearing him get excited about yoga and that he can tell me tree pose and show me what it is. I think he is a clever little yogi.

teepee
Having a teepee is really exciting enough, but if you want another fun activity, why not have a tea party inside your teepee?!
gluten free scones

Add some gluten-free vegan scones, and your tea party is that much yummier than your pretend treats.

Can you tell how much fun we have been having? I was kind of getting used to our living room being crowded by a fort and teepee, but we decided to return our dining chairs back to the table until next time. However, we still have our giant teepee in our lounge, and with this much needed rain in NZ after a drought, I think it might be staying up for awhile. We are lucky enough to have a covered deck so that we can get some fresh air and still have some time outside even when it is pouring down. Do you and your little ones build forts or teepees? Possibly even some other cool hiding places in empty boxes? Feel free to share as you might inspire us in our next fort or hiding space.

GIVEAWAY DETAILS…

If you have been following us on Facebook, you may have noticed that we are going to be doing a very special giveaway with some awesome NZ businesses. A huge thank you to BeBops, ExtraFresh, Hemp Farm NZ Ltd, and Go Bamboo! I am still sorting out all of the details so feel free to check out their websites and Facebook pages in the meantime. These are all NZ based and are amazing in their efforts to support a sustainable future. If you are a vegan, eco-friendly, or gluten-free company who would like to share your products/services, please email me to be a part of our giveaway. To all of our readers, you will have some pretty exciting news coming soon and a great opportunity to win! Stay tuned for more details…

12 responses »

  1. What a gorgeous little yogi! Tree pose is one of my favourites. What a fun day!
    I am happy to hear that it is raining. I hope it is falling where it is desperately needed.

    • Thanks, Ally. He loves the butterfly, mountain (downward dog), and now tree pose 🙂 He just amazes me. Yes, I hope so as well. Hopefully we can get out in the garden tomorrow to find some various things for Lamby to eat.

      • It is great that Z is into yoga. My kids do yoga and meditation at school every morning. I am so happy about it.
        Sometimes my son tells us that he is going outside to meditate on the trampoline!

    • Wow, that is awesome that yoga and meditation is a part of their school. I am sure that you mentioned it is vegetarian, too?! Sounds like a pretty great school to me. Love that your son meditates on the trampoline 😉

  2. Cute photos…and that’s the best darn teepee I have ever seen! My kids are now almost 14 and 10, so I’m not so much into making forts with them. When they were younger, we used to try to make igloos outside in the winter. Now they just build them with their friends. Lately, we have had some pretty awesome obstacle courses in our living room for our bunny and cats (cats not too interested, though). 🙂

Leave a Reply

