Vegan Red Lentil Dhal

Standard

vegan curry

As I posted on our Facebook page since I couldn’t resist sharing earlier, Zaedyn gave a big thumbs up for our red lentil dhal we enjoyed for tea tonight. Can you believe it is the first time we have made this type of dish?! I suppose it isn’t a dish that I am familiar with making, and it really wasn’t until I was looking for early foods to try with Zaedyn that I even cooked red lentils.

As I am looking for ways to help increase my iron, I came across this super easy and yummy recipe for red lentil dhal. I pinned it onto my lentils board and have been thinking about it ever since. We finally had all of the ingredients and time to make it. Well, 10 minutes to make really isn’t long at all. See, I told you it was easy.

Now, curry paste is one of the ingredients, and I found it hard trying to find a vegan one in the supermarket since many contain ingredients such as shrimp paste. This makes things a bit tricky as well since I am sure many curry dishes that you might order from a restaurant will most likely not be vegan, but it isn’t a dish that you would possibly expect not to be. To be safe, we used a redΒ Vegan Curry Paste from the Cruelty Free Shop. They also have a green and yellow one. If you are in NZ, the Vegan Society has a Korma Curry Paste and some other ingredients under Indian in their toolkit which you may find at your local supermarket. I have also just found some recipes online to make your own curry paste. Do you buy or make yours?

We pretty much followed the recipe. It might not be my recipe, but I do not see the reason to change something that is already great. It really was as simple as boiling the red lentils for 10 minutes and then adding the rest of the ingredients. We seemed to have the rest of the spices already, & we used Ceres Organic Coconut Milk. As the recipe only called for a 1/2 cup, please let me know if you have any other favourite ways to use coconut milk.

Of course, you cannot forget the rice, and we decided to steam some vegetables as well. We made broccoli, cauliflower, and snap peas.

I was really impressed and so excited to see how much Zaedyn enjoyed this new meal. I did not find it too spicy, but you can always adjust to you and your little one’s taste. Zaedyn loves rice so he was pretty excited. He seems to be loving broccoli at the moment as well, sticking the entire piece in his mouth, one after another! I gave him my broccoli, and he seemed to like eating what else was on my plate in addition to his own. He even left the table only to come back asking for mine and saying, “More” as he continued to keep eating more lentil dhal off my plate.

Vegan

As you can tell, this was a complete success. He had his bath and still came back looking for more. He makes me laugh. I would love to hear if you have any other favourite lentil recipes or ways to use up the rest of our coconut milk. If you decide to try this recipe, I hope you like it as much as we did. We have quite a bit leftover. I wonder if I can eat this for days in a row, or whether I might be able to freeze some. Any thoughts?

5 responses »

  1. πŸ™‚ Seriously, could Zaedyn be any cuter?! What adorable photos. I am happy to hear that he enjoyed his dhal.
    I checked the recipe. It looks yummy!
    You can definitely freeze this.
    I use coconut milk in my vegetable curries. About 1/2 a cup. I also use about 1/2 cup of coconut milk in my Laksa.
    You can use it to make a decadent hot chocolate. Heat the coconut milk on the stove, add cocoa or cacao powder, a tiny bit of liquid sweetener if you like. Stir until the cacao/cocoa is incorporated. It is so rich, that you only want 1/2 a cup!
    You could make a peanut sauce for stir-fry.
    You could make a 1/2 serve of the cashew sauce recipe that I just posted. It is yummy with dhal, or on steamed vegies.
    πŸ™‚

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ He is pretty cheeky! We don’t seem to freeze much food as we just make smaller portions so I never know what might be alright. Didn’t want to waste any so thank you. Yum, I was kind of thinking of using it in some sort of chocolate. Ooh, peanut stir-fry sounds yummy, too. Thanks for all the ideas & might need to try your curry recipes πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! He is such a character. We were quite impressed with the dhal. I remember having something similar a few years ago with some sort of chickpea side dish that would be good to have with it as well πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Natural Alternatives to Boost Iron | Arohanui

Leave a Reply

