Vegan Puppy Chow for Humans?

Standard

vegan chocolate
Melted chocolate, peanut butter, dairy-free butter, and vanilla tossed with vegan “Chex” type cereal then tossed with vegan icing sugar to be put in the freezer. Does this sound like puppy chow to you?

I remember growing up and eating this mix. My twin and I had best friends that were twins as well. We always seemed to make it at their house. Something that might sound like an odd combination, especially with the name, but super yummy. Possibly not the healthiest of all snacks, I will admit, but not something that we often make. The last time I made it was when I was looking for ideas for Zaedyn’s birthday. As we had a Very Hungry Caterpillar Party, we renamed this Caterpillar Food. Even chocolate peanut butter crunch or something might sound nice, but then again, puppy chow is a well-known snack by many.

Cereal can be one of those foods that contain misleading ingredients that are not vegan, but you would not notice at first glance, or without prior knowledge. Vitamin D3 is a common ingredient that you would think would be good, but it is not as it usually comes from animal origin! We always buy safe brands or organic products that do not seem to add extra unnecessary ingredients. I already check every box of anything that we buy, but I do not buy products that have lots of numbers which may include animal derived additives.

Nature’s Path Oaty Bites are the only cereal we have found here that would be useful for this recipe. You need a cereal that has openings where the chocolate can get inside. They are wheat free, however not gluten-free as it contains barley malt extract. We would love to find a gluten-free alternative if anyone knows of any since we would not usually eat any gluten. We only made a small batch which is already gone because Zaedyn was hungry and decided to eat lots of the oaty bites before we even made anything. He loved telling me, “Oaty Bites! Oaty Bites!” New words for the day. I cannot keep up with the amount that he knows. He is just too clever. I cannot believe he will be 2 in April.

Have you heard of it before? Do you eat puppy chow? I wonder what other yummy foods have interesting names that do not taste at all like they sound.

There are plenty of recipes out there, but Peta has one that can be found here.
vegan chocolate
After Zaedyn knew where it was, I kept hearing pitter patter feet into the kitchen and little hands rummaging in a bowl. I wonder what Zaedyn was doing? At least he would come over to David and I to give us some. I think he just liked the idea that they were there, and he was more than happy to share.

Last chance to vote! I hope you haven’t been too overwhelmed with all of our reminders, but we are loving your support and being in the Top 5. We would love to stay in the Top 5 if possible, and would appreciate all the votes we can get. I kept thinking the voting would be over today as it is the 7th in New Zealand, but voting ends tomorrow at 4pm PST. You can vote for other blogs, too. Ally, from Made of Stars is at #1 now, and further down the list is Lou from Fridge Scrapings. These are two blogs that I have followed before the competition, but I really look forward to following some new ones out there I have come across.
Circle of Moms Top 25 Vegan & Vegetarian Moms - 2013 - Vote for me!

3 responses »

  1. Oh this looks so yummy, Lindsay! I have never tried Puppy Chow – such a weird name isn’t it!? I reckon I would have NO self control around this stuff. Yay you are doing so well in the Top 25… I’m stoked to have made it where I am for coming into the race SO late, ha! Will keep voting for ya!

    • Yes, it is a weird name! Didn’t seem to put me off eating it though aha. It is pretty addicting and definitely hard to have self control over it. Thanks heaps for your support. Definitely glad that you have come up from getting in late and will still be awesome being in the Top 25 🙂

  2. I had never heard of puppy chow either! Sounds yummy though. I’m not familiar with that cereal either.
    Z is so cute 🙂 It is such an amazing age- they learn so much each day!
    I didn’t know you were a twin!

    Hi Lou!

Leave a Reply

