{Gluten-Free & Vegan} Tempeh Hot Wings

Standard

Vegan Hot Wings

Experimenting with tempeh and another variation of gluten-free wings from my Buffalo Cauliflower Wings. I am pretty sure you could use this recipe for the cauliflower which would be super yummy, too. I love cauliflower! This was the closest we came to anything to do with the Super Bowl. Think I have only ever worried about the food anyways!

{Gluten-Free & Vegan} Tempeh Hot Wings
inspired by Buffalo Tempeh “Wings”

-250g package of tempeh
-1/3 c almond milk (I am sure any dairy free milk will work, but we seem to always have almond)
-1/3 c gluten-free flour
-1/2 tsp Himalayan Crystal Salt
-3/4 tsp Basil (or other dried herb)
-1 tsp paprika
-1/2 tsp garlic powder (I didn’t have any and forgot to use fresh garlic)
-fresh ground pepper
-1 c gluten-free bread crumbs

Hot Wing Sauce
***Warning: This is a very hot sauce which you may wish to adjust for a milder version
-1/2 c Nando’s HOT Peri-Peri Sauce (labelled vegan, but you may be able to find or make your own vegan hot sauce)
-2 TBSP vegan butter
-1 TBSP tomato sauce (or ketchup)

Vegan Wings

I boiled 4 cups of water in the kettle, and then transferred to the stove for another quick boil before adding my tempeh. You can slice in whatever shape or thickness you prefer, but I just cut quartered mine and continued to cut which left me with 12 pieces. After the water was boiled, I turned it down between medium and high, added my tempeh, and set the timer to 15 minutes.

While waiting for the tempeh, I set out my 3 bowls. The first one with almond milk, the second one with the gluten-free flour and seasonings, and the third one with gluten-free bread crumbs. Oh, and somewhere along the line depending on how fast your oven heats up, preheat to just above 200 C or 400 F. When the tempeh has been in the boiling water for 15 minutes, drain and rinse with cold filtered water.

I used tongs and placed each strip one by one from almond milk to flour mixture, back to almond milk, and into the bread crumbs. I set them on top of a baking sheet and placed them into the oven for 10 minutes, flipped them over, and cooked for another 10 minutes.

While the “wings” were cooking, I made my hot sauce. The original recipe talks about heating the sauce in a microwave. We do not use a microwave in our house so I personally recommend putting your ingredients into a pot and heating.

Does anyone else choose not use a microwave?

Once the timer goes off again and the tempeh wings are ready, toss with your hot sauce, serve with celery, and enjoy! I have never been a huge fan of dressings, but you could definitely serve with a vegan dressing as well.

Vegan Wings

Another HUGE thank you to those of you voting every day or sharing. Arohanui Vegan Love is now at #6 and not far from getting into the Top 5. Every vote counts. I would honestly love to be in the Top 5, and I would really appreciate your votes if you have a second. No signing up or registering required, and you can vote every 24 hours from your last vote. You will only hear this message a few more days! Although I will continue to appreciate all the love and support from everyone πŸ™‚

Circle of Moms Top 25 Vegan & Vegetarian Moms - 2013 - Vote for me!

12 responses »

    • Yay, did you end up making this? Would love to see what you thought. So glad to hear that someone else doesn’t use a microwave. Some people think it is a bit strange, but I love not having one and don’t believe that they are good for us.

      • Yes! I made the tempeh yesterday afternoon for an early dinner. I took 2 servings to the ice rink with some soup for my daughter and I. The other pieces were left at home for my husband and youngest. My husband emailed me while I was out and said, “make this again!”. The whole family thought this dish was delicious! The girls dipped their pieces in ketchup, as I never did get to the sauce. Us grown-ups ate it on its own. Definitely making this again! Thank you so much for the recipe πŸ™‚

      • Yay! So glad that your family liked it, and thanks heaps for the feedback. Definitely made me smile πŸ™‚ :). Ooh, I am sure it would be yummy will all sorts of dips. Haven’t been to an ice rink in a very long time. Soup would have been a good choice to warm you up πŸ˜‰

  1. This looks yummy! I would like to try it too. I will let you know when I do.
    We stopped using a microwave last year. We hardly ever used it, and it was taking up precious bench space.

  2. Pingback: The thing about soy | uberdish

  3. Pingback: The Thing About Soy | veganfoodpreparation

  4. I have been experimenting with different batters and flavorings and this one will be on my to do list.
    Thought I would let your readers know about our website showing our easy method for making tempeh at home. We produced Betsy’s Tempeh in Mich. for 9 1/2 years and developed and patented a new process for making tempeh without using plastic bags. Since retiring we have patented a new process for a tempeh incubator that restaurants and small coop shops could use making tempeh for the local market.
    Stay in touch for further developments.
    Betsy Shipley

Leave a Reply

