Fruit & Greens

Standard

Fruit
Vegan
Vegan

Ever need more space in your kitchen? A cupcake plate stand is the perfect solution, and it even makes it more appealing to choose what you want to eat. We have been living off mostly what we can find in our kitchen or out in the garden. Unfortunately, we do not have a backyard full of fruit trees. We made a trip to the store and filled our trolley with fresh fruit as you can see. Yum! As some of the produce can be limited, we bought as much organic fruit as possible. We even found mangoes for under $3. With a much higher price tag, I could not resist buying at least 3 passionfruit. If you have been following me from the start or know me well, they are one of my favourite fruits. I was quite surprised to see them already coming into season, but at $39.99kg! Since our lovely lamb ate our other vine and our new one is still growing, I am uncertain if ours will even produce fruit this year. I hope that someone near me will kindly donate lots of passionfruit to us because I definitely cannot afford to keep buying this yummy fruit.

You might be wondering what the cauliflower photos are all about. It might seem a bit silly and really simple, but have you ever cut cauliflower in small pieces or tossed some in the food processor and mixed in hummus? If not, you should definitely try it. We love raw cauliflower and hummus, but this is just something a little bit different. Depending on the flavour hummus, there is a slight resemblance to Mac ‘n Cheese. Well, that might just be me. It has been a very long time since I had that, and I do not remember having it all that much, but I always seem to think of it when eating this. I usually use a spicy or capsicum hummus, but feel free to use any kind. Yum! Zaedyn likes to dip big pieces of raw cauliflower in hummus, but this is also a great alternative. If you have little ones and are worried about choking, you can process this a lot more than I did and then mix with hummus.

Another beautiful day in the sunshine! I heard Zaedyn and the lawnmower making their way down the steps as I grabbed our smoothie, and off he went. Lawnmowers seem to be one of the most important things in his life at the moment. He just loves them, and he will be the first to hear and tell you about them when a neighbour is mowing their lawn. Last weekend we bought a handmower which seems to be working really well and is much more eco-friendly than our other lawnmower. If only we could cover our entire yard with fruits and veggies! Even with the amount we eat, I am pretty sure I would have a lot to share seeing as we have a pretty big yard.

This is our third day of somewhat following the 40 Days of Smoothies e-book. As I have mentioned before, I never seem to follow recipes; not even my own. Why? Often I use what I have or prefer to use, and by the end I realise that I have actually changed or substituted a lot. However, I still am inspired by looking at a recipe. Anyways, if you have the e-book, my changes were cacao instead of cocoa powder, a mix of kale and spinach as we are running low on kale, LSA (linseed, sunflower, and almond) instead of flax meal, and some frozen banana instead of maple syrup. There was an extra addition of green today with avocado in our smoothie. Oh, and the photo on the right is just another little snack: avocado on organic sesame corn thins sprinkled with chia seeds for an extra boost.

Thank you to everyone voting for Arohanui Vegan Love for the Circle of Moms Top 25 Vegan & Vegetarian Moms. If you haven’t already, please vote for us. I am pleased to hear that some of you are voting every day. Up until the 7th February, you can vote every 24 hours since your last vote. There are some other blogs listed well worth checking out, too!
Circle of Moms Top 25 Vegan & Vegetarian Moms - 2013 - Vote for me!

11 responses »

Leave a Reply

