Gluten-Free & Vegan Chickpea Burger with Tahini Sauce

Standard

Vegan Burger

Yum! This was sooooo delicious that we ended up making it again a few days later. I know it is taking me a long time to update my recipes page, but I just can’t seem to keep up. In case you wondered, I do not always make up new recipes, or I may just change them to be gluten-free so make sure to click and search the Kai tab on the right. I have definitely tried to be a bit more creative since having Zaedyn as well as trying to find food that David will enjoy. If it was just me, I would usually stick to quick food such as fruit, raw veggies and hummus, nuts, etc. Although I enjoy making food, I am usually too hungry to wait, or busy snacking all day to bother with “typical” meals, but the boys have changed things a bit!

Anyways as I mentioned on Facebook, Natasha over at BeBops posts some delicious recipes she finds across the web. Check out her page for some amazing cloth nappies as well as some yummy vegan food inspiration. Not many pre-made vegan burgers are gluten-free. After Natasha posted a link to this chickpea burger recipe, I quickly realised that all I would need to change was the bread crumbs and make a quick vegan tahini sauce. Yum! Zaedyn ate them in pieces or crumbles even after deciding to break it apart, David ate his on a bun, and well, I think that mine was by far the best. I went and picked some fresh kale from the garden and lightly cooked it in some avocado oil and sprinkled with sesame seeds. Even the kale as a side or made into a salad would be delicious.

{Gluten-Free & Vegan} Chickpea Burgers with Tahini Sauce
Follow this recipe, however, replace with gluten-free bread crumbs and use fresh herbs from your garden. The first time I made them, we only used fresh parsley from our garden because I love coriander/cilantro so much that we didn’t have any more! I definitely made sure to add some the next time. I even played around with different size burgers, and the bigger one still held together.
*tip: Adjust the amount of bread crumbs to suit your mix, or make sure you add a bit of water if you realise that your chickpeas seem a bit dry once processed. You can easily play around with the mix. As usual with my cooking, I made this twice and they came out different, but equally as yummy! We even ate our first cucumber from our garden. I love eating fresh veggies that we have grown.

Vegan Burger

Vegan

Tahini Sauce:
-1/4 cup tahini

-3 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

-1/4 cup water

-fresh garlic or garlic powder & Himalayan Crystal Salt

*Can easily adjust to taste, or change it up by adding cayenne pepper or other spices and herbs. Adjust the amount of water to make the sauce runny or thick.

Let me know if you try the tahini sauce from Colleen. Am curious to see what it tastes like, but I was also quite happy with my simple sauce.

Vegan Burger

Oh, and just wondering if anyone else has tried corn couscous? Made with gluten-free cornflour, it is another gluten-free and wheat free option. Reminds me of cornbread 🙂

gluten-free couscous

5 responses »

    • Thank you! Have a look in the shops next time as we have been noticing an Australian brand Freelicious turning up with new products here. Gluten-free products, but not everything is vegan from what I can see on their website. I had never seen the corn couscous before, but of course I love to try new and interesting things I find 🙂

    • I initially read it as yoghurt so I overlooked the recipe not realising it said nondairy yoghurt even though it was on a vegan blog! I am not usually one for sauce, but this has made me quite busy experimenting with all sorts of tahini sauces lately 🙂

  1. Pingback: Sesame Kale with Hempseed Oil « Arohanui

Leave a Reply

