40 Days of Green Smoothies

Standard

A HUGE thank you to Ally, from Made with Stars, for sending me my very own e-book copy ofย 40 days of Green Smoothies by Becky Striepe! I have been needing more green smoothie inspiration so this was perfect timing, and I am looking forward to experimenting with more greens. I will try to do my best going straight through 40 days unless we happen to be away somewhere that I cannot bring my mini blender, or I may always make minor adjustments to the recipes.

Quickly looking through, they are pretty simple smoothies which require ingredients that I already use or seem to have in my garden or pantry. I like the way that the weeks are set up requiring similar ingredients so if you do not have a garden, you do not have to stock up on a huge range of ingredients every week. Mangoes are going to be the hard one for me! I love mangoes, but we just cannot seem to get them cheap here. If anyone in New Zealand comes across some, let me know. I have never seen frozen mangoes here, and I don’t think I can afford to buy many at $5+ each. You might find me searching the shops for them :). I also don’t seem to find collard greens. I was thinking I might need to grow some as they make the perfect wrap!

Anyways, Zaedyn and I decided to make our first green smoothie from the book this afternoon. I just love how Zaedyn says, “Smoothie,” especially with so much excitement. We just used our mini blender which is why you see so many little bits of green kale, but you really do not notice when you are drinking it. We possibly could have added some more greens as the recipe called for 1-2 leaves, but since mine were small, I used about 4. I also didn’t have any ice in the freezer so I just added some more frozen raspberries. Zaedyn’s first response to raspberries is always, “Strawberry!” One day he will learn the difference. I still think that he is pretty clever. Green Smoothie #1: Banana, almond milk, chia seeds, frozen raspberries, and kale (ice if you have some). Blend and enjoy!

Vegan Smoothie

Green Smoothie #1 from 40 Days of Green Smoothies

Looking ahead through the book, I noticed that I will be needing lots of kale. Good thing I bought some more to grow today. I noticed that I have been picking leaves off from what is already out in the garden, and new leaves keep appearing. I am just loving my garden this year. I also still have more kale seeds, but I couldn’t resist 3 for $10 plants. I could buy everything in the shop, but I decided to mix it up and buy one lot of kale, cauliflower, and a gourmet lettuce combo. Although seeds can be cheaper, it can be a good head start buying them already started. Our garden is going so well this year, that we really have worked out how to save money and time away from shopping. I would absolutely love to be fully sustainable or close to it all year round, so I can see our garden continuing to grow all of the time.

Vegan

Oh, and what I actually went there for was a compost container that we debated about buying the other day. I think it is the cutest little compost bin for under our sink. Yes, we are trying to save money, but this is something that we need. We have had our big compost bins for quite a few years now, and I cannot say that we have always had success. We even spent a bit more to buy an Earthmaker which does most of the work for you, but we were never in the right mindset to use it properly. I don’t like to pile leftovers into a plastic bag, but I have also been looking for a different alternative than just a plastic white bucket. I know you might think that we really didn’t need this, but I know it is going to make such a difference being easier to carry our scraps out to the compost, and I think it really is a great alternative to a plastic container. Zaedyn thinks it makes a pretty good drum, too! Our banana and de-stemmed kale from our smoothie were the first scraps into our new little compost container. What do you think?

Vegan Compost

Vegan Compost

In case you were wondering what the center photo is, this is what underneath the lid looks like. When we were going to buy it the other day, I questioned whether it would get smelly as there were holes in the top although it would help air it out. We are good at emptying it though so I figured that it possibly wouldn’t matter. Then today I realised that there is something sitting in the inside which I am assuming is a way to help circulate, yet not leave the compost container completely open. Aha, please let me know if I am wrong though! It would be quite funny to think that it was just part of the packaging, although I am pretty sure that this is not the case.

Vegan Compost

I know that I have mentioned this a few times, but if you have not looked at Ally’s blog Made of Stars, make sure you do. She shares awesome recipes every Monday and is currently working on an A-Z of Veganism series (up to G right now) which points out very interesting topics that you will want to read whether you are not vegan or not. Plus of course, topics on vegan parenting and vegan children. Thanks again, Ally. Zaedyn and I look forward to our green smoothies!

6 responses »

  1. Oh your post made my heart sing!
    Thank you, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am over the moon that you have been inspired by the e-book, and that you wrote about it. And, you are very welcome ๐Ÿ™‚
    It is so lovely to hear about Zaedyn’s enthusiasm for smoothies. The photos of him with your new compost bucket are adorable. I love the bucket too, and the colour. It will make taking the scraps out to the compost bin feel less of a chore! We just have a dull plastic container.
    You know, I still haven’t tried almond milk in a green smoothie ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Your kale sounds fabulous. Ours is not thriving at all.
    I wish I could send you some mangoes. I bought some for $2 each today.
    Good night ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh, I wish you could send me mangoes! I think I need to go on a mango hunt. You will be very happy to know that we enjoyed our second smoothie today which was delicious. I didn’t have the secret ingredient although I have been meaning to get some. Will have to try it another time. Pretty excited about tomorrow’s smoothie, too ๐Ÿ™‚ You should definitely try almond milk in your green smoothie. What do you use? Yes, we are very excited about the compost. Hehe, the things we get excited about! My kale is amongst heaps and heaps of nasturtium which is why I think it is doing so well ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. The e-book sounds fabulous! We have the very same compost bin – I was given it as a (very thoughtful) birthday gift last yearโ€ฆthe black fibrous disc under the lid is a carbon filter, which does indeed keep any smells in the bin itself. It can be replaced, but we have had great success just washing it, then drying it in the sunshine and reusing it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Meg! Aha, I did think that was the purpose and great to hear good feedback about the compost bin. I am so excited about it. Do you have the red or white one? I was hoping there was one in green! Great idea about washing it, too. As you can tell from my post, I have not managed to find cheap mangoes yet. Have you?

Leave a Reply

