Gluten-Free Vegan Christmas Treats

Standard

vegan

{Gluten-Free & Vegan} Almond Toffee Crunch

In the beginning of December, I remember seeing simplydish post about Brown Sugar Almond Toffee. The photo obviously caught my attention as it looked so yummy, and then then words underneath so similar to Almond Roca had my complete attention. Even as a young child, Almond Roca seemed to be something that I really enjoyed. I always remember choosing it over other typical chocolate. I had never made toffee before, but the ingredients and recipe sounded quite simple so I thought that I would give it a go.

Remember how I just mentioned simple? Well, it should have been, but I managed to get a bit confused so make sure to read what I have to say. I didn’t have a candy thermometer either so I followed the instructions about timing for fifteen minutes and stirring occasionally. Well actually, I didn’t follow the stirring occasionally instructions as I seem to stir more often than I should. I was worried about burning this and didn’t actually cook it long enough the first time. I was clever enough and able to save it by continuing to cook it though.

So what do you need to remember? Even when it starts to boil, you need to wait until it thickens up and becomes more of a light brown colour. This might seem simple to others, but not having made anything like this before and without a thermometer to check the temperature, the unknowing made it a bit tricky. However, I can easily make this again very simply having made it already, and I am sure that I will as David seems to be enjoying it! Perfect for a holiday treat to share with others.

Vegan

{Gluten-Free & Vegan} Crispy Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 TBSP chia seeds mixed with 3 TBSP water
1/4 cup Olivani (or vegan butter)
1/4 cup homemade almond butter
1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup raw sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
Himalayan Crystal Salt
1 cup organic oats, blended into a flour (gluten-free)
1 cup Linseed, Sunflower, & Almonds (LSA)
1/3 cup chopped dark chocolate (*I always add a bit more)

-Mix chia seeds and water, set aside.

-With mixer, beat Olivani & almond butter, then add sugars and chia seed.

-Add dry ingredients, fold in chocolate chips.

-Roll into balls and bake around 11 minutes at 180 C. Enjoy.

(Adapted recipe from Oh She Glows Crispy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies)

Off to make lots more vegan goodies for the holidays. We found some special treats at the One-Stop Gluten-Free Shop. Seeing as Angel Food is all out of stock for Soymilke, we found plain and a couple caramel ones there. David is very excited about his vegan caramel slice.

Wishing everyone an awesome holiday. We plan on being out in the sunshine and enjoying time as a family so you may occasionally hear from me on Facebook or Pinterest, and I will post some of our holiday updates at some point. If you haven’t contributed to the Copono campaign, there are still 18 days left. They could really use your supports as they have raised $621 toward their $5000 goal. Check the campaign out at Copono Vegan for Kiwis, or if this is the first time you are hearing about it you can read my post about Copono: Valuable App for All Kiwis.

6 responses »

  1. Yum! Those treats look amazing!
    Have a beautiful holiday season with your precious little guy (and your big guy!). The weather is glorious here too. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Vegan Almond Butter Chocolate Bikkies « Arohanui

Leave a Reply

