Exciting Christmas Already! Karma?

Standard

A sewing book, Christmas cracker, macadamia nuts, visit from a special friend, and emailing the winner of the Te Reo Singalong. What an exciting day! Karma? I truly spend far more time on my blog then I should because I really do enjoy telling everyone about all of the wonderful companies out there or somehow helping or inspiring you through our life. I do not make money through all this, but I do gain a whole lot by helping other people who are interested or care about similar values as us. This makes all of the companies I write about special as well because I choose carefully what I want to include and share with you. I was going to list them all here, but I think I might need to make a link to them. Β The only ad I have is for Living Foods Lifestyle, simply because I really wanted to make the site easily accessible and shared with all of you, but I only gain from you making purchases through my link to their site. Even then you would be supporting me to buy more raw foods to share recipes with you so there is still a cycle of helping. This is where your comments, pins, tweets, and likes on Facebook really come in. Yes, I am on Twitter now in case you want to follow. Not completely sure of it all, but I will get there. I really do appreciate everyone who takes the time to read my blog, comment, and interact through social media. Days like this make me think about the saying “What goes around comes around :).” Positive karma of course!

NZ sewing
Thank you so much to Penny from Little Housewife. I was so excited to receive Home Sewn in the mail today. I recently bought a Bernette Bernina sewing machine and have lots of projects I hope to make next year. Sewing my own clothes is definitely a goal of mine so I am really thankful to have won this giveaway. I also love that this book profiles 10 leading New Zealand Designers. I am looking forward to hopefully practicing sewing on my new machine over the holidays. Thanks again, Penny! Make sure to check out Penny’s blog and Facebook page about “a blissful childhood of happy memories which she passes on to her children through cooking, baking, crafts, gardening, places to visit, tips and tricks, & their happy home.”

homemade cracker

Then our beautiful Christmas cracker arrived today! Megan from mousehouse made this lovely cracker. Zaedyn had been a bit impatient, sneaking around our living tree to untie the string, and attempting to peak in. I kept retying the strings on, and I think it became a game to him. As you can tell, we will both try to wait patiently until Christmas to open it, however, it is a bit tempting! For those of you who don’t know, this all started with Katie from Mummy Adventures who set up this Christmas cracker swap. After signing up, we received our swap partners who we could then make our handmade crackers for and send off to wherever they live in New Zealand. Do you think you can wait until Christmas to find out what is inside? I will let you know once the cracker has been opened. In the meantime, check out Megan’s blog or Facebook page for “crafty projects, home and garden ideas, fun things for kids to make and do, eco-friendly ideas and home organising tips.”

Now the macadamia nuts I received are not the ones I ordered, but ones given to me just because the topic came up about them. I am so grateful for these even being passed onto me. Now for the hard part. Opening them all up!

Then a very special friend came to visit us. Zaedyn was happy and cheeky as ever running around. Even if this included throwing pegs. It is lovely to have a friend that you get along with and can share all sorts with, talking so much and forgetting how much time has passed.

Oh, and I finally upgraded to a Canon 60D after 6 1/2 years taking heaps of photos with my Canon Rebel XT. I can already see how busy I am going to be next year between sewing my own clothes and sewing in general, making raw foods, and learning about my new camera. Zaedyn loves it already because there is a big screen and he can see the picture I took of the lawnmower. At 19 months, he is pretty clever with all the words he says. At the moment, all we hear about is the lawn mower over and over again. He is very fascinated by them and will repeatedly get excited about them shouting, “LAWN MOWER!”

lawn

It has been so busy lately, but I really appreciate everyone who entered the Te Reo Singalong Giveaway. I have emailed the winner. If you did not win, they are definitely books that are worth buying. If you are interested, you can buy directly from the Te Reo Singalong website.

Although the bamboodie sale has ended, there is still time to enter our eco peko giveaway for a 100% organic cotton t-shirt for your child or someone you know. Simply go to the postΒ and comment or add multiple comments to gain extra entries before Wednesday, December 19, 2012 at 8:00PM NZ time.

karmaFinally, if you have not heard of Copono, please check out their current campaign. I have more to tell you soon, but in short, Copono is an app to track and rate vegan things in New Zealand. This will make life for Kiwis easier as you can scan barcodes of products to find out if they are vegan or not. 85 Kiwis are already using this app, but with your help they can share it with everyone in Aotearoa. There are 24 days left to reach their goal of $5000. Even a contribution of $10 will help them get closer to reaching their goal. Vegan or not, please consider contributing to this vegan campaign to help Copono assist you in not only buying vegan food, but also finding sustainable and ethical choices. Thanks!

What goes around comes around πŸ™‚

7 responses »

  1. Laaawwwwwwnn mowwa!! Hehe πŸ™‚ Was sooo cool to catch up and play with Zaedyn, thanks so much for having me visit! Sorry for keeping ya up late… πŸ™‚ Christmas time sure is a busy time of year! Hope to see you guys again some time soon! Xx

    • Ahahaha, yip that is all I hear at the moment. You should see him carrying around a picture of one now. He even misses sleep because he stands on his chair and peeks out the window at the neighbours mowing their lawn. Not sure where this fascination started, but he loves them! Definitely catch up again soon xx

  2. Ha ha,good luck waiting for Christmas to open your cracker! I caved early πŸ™‚ Really looking forward to seeing what’s in yours and what you sent to Megan πŸ™‚

    • I wanted to open it early, too! Hehe, I followed your instructions on waiting until Christmas. Thank you so much for setting it all up. What a great idea. As my first cracker, I wasn’t as creative as I will be next year. I didn’t even think to use scrapbooking paper. Have all sorts of ideas for making crackers now, and I will definitely be making them again. Can’t wait to see what you received as well :).

  3. Pingback: Vegan Christmas Cracker « Arohanui

Leave a Reply

