Roasted Vegetable Salad & Pumpkin Cookies

Standard

fresh rosemary

Rosemary for coughing? I recently read somewhere that rosemary is a good herb to eat if you have a cough and had just been talking with a good friend about her beautifully fast growing rosemary plant. Zaedyn started coughing a bit yesterday. I was hoping it would not come to anything, but I thought I would get some rosemary to give him just in case.

Zaedyn tasted a fresh rosemary leaf, but ended up falling asleep before dinner was ready as he was too tired from a busy day. At least I ended up with this yummy roast vegetable salad with fresh rosemary for dinner. Lucky enough, there was heaps leftover which we were able to enjoy for lunch today. Zaedyn doesn’t seem to be coughing today, but I don’t think that I can put it down to the rosemary. At least I know what to use next time any of us have a cough. Has anyone else ever eaten rosemary as a natural remedy for coughing or tried rosemary oil?

I prefer to eat most vegetables raw and know that they are better for us that way, but there were a couple reasons that I decided to make this salad. When we were in Rarotonga in January, one of the restaurants made me a special meal one night which was a variety of roasted vegetables and hummus. It was so yummy, and I would have gone back again if we weren’t at the end of our trip. A few months ago, I decided to make my own creation with courgettes, pumpkin, onion, capsicum, kumara, and cashews over mixed greens with capsicum hummus. It was delicious! Zaedyn was pretty excited as well, however, he was only eating the hummus by the spoonful which he often likes to do. Also, I did not give him any cashews.

When thinking of how to use rosemary last night, I thought that this salad would be perfect. This time I made kumara with fresh rosemary, pumpkin, capsicum, and onion on top of spinach leaves. I could not decide which nuts to use so I ended up with a combination of cashews, walnuts, and pine nuts. Again, this was absolutely delicious.

Rosemary

About a week ago, I saw a photo of some pumpkin cookies from the Lunchbox Bunch. I really wanted to try them and actually ended up making my own version which is super yummy. Zaedyn and I made them today for David’s birthday with the extra pumpkin we cooked alongside our veggies last night. Our own pumpkin puree with yummy and healthy ingredients. I would definitely make these again.

chia seeds

Vegan Pumpkin Cookies

Dry Ingredients:
~1 1/4 cups organic rolled oats
~3/4 cup rice flour
~1/2 cup LSA (linseed, sunflower, almond)
~1/2 cup raw sugar *optional
~1 tsp cinnamon
~1 TBSP baking powder

Wet Ingredients:
~1/3 c water + 2 tsp chia seeds
~1/2 tsp vanilla extract
~1 cup homemade pumpkin puree
~1 tsp raw organic apple cider vinegar
~2 TBSP melted coconut oil

Mix wet into dry ingredients and add in:
~3/4 cup chopped walnuts
~1 cup chocolate

Dough can be chilled or cooked straight away for 12 minutes at 190 degrees Celsius.

*Thank you to Healthy Happy Life for the idea to make pumpkin cookies and the basic recipe which I adjusted. Check out their site for some yummy looking recipes.

Rā whānau ki a koe, rā whānau ki a koe, rā whānau ki a David, rā whānau ki a koe!

Happy Birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear David, happy birthday to you!

Happy Birthday, David! Lots of love xxx

One response »

  1. Pingback: Super Grains « Arohanui

Leave a Reply

