Our Veggie Garden

Standard
courgettes

last year’s veggie garden

Yum! We utilised tires for our last year’s garden as we were not exactly sure what to do with our veggie boxes, and I cannot say that much has changed. The area still seems to be such a mess! Weeds and ivy always take over the area. We have previously thought about putting some stones down. I would love to completely renovate the area into a beautiful garden, but I am just not sure where to begin. I look forward to spending lots of time out in the garden this summer with Zaedyn and seeing him pick his own fresh fruit and veggies to eat.

We did not end up planting a whole lot or spending much time out in the garden last year between the holidays, work, and spending time at the Mount and in Rarotonga. I am really looking forward to this year’s garden and still deciding what to plant and how we can manage to sort our garden area out. We will definitely look at planting courgettes, yellow squash, cucumbers, capsicum, and strawberries again. Unfortunately a lot of my strawberries have seemed to disappear over the last few years, but I still have a few that I am going to look at replanting. Our parsley is always growing, and I am still looking at where to plant the mint, kale, passionfruit, blueberries, nasturtium, and guavaberry within our garden. They are currently in pots until I hopefully clear the area out and create our beautiful garden! Always hopeful intentions and am hoping that this year will be full of edibles for Zaedyn. So far I have also thought about baby tomatoes, beans, and jicama. I love jicama! I have not been able to find fresh jicama yet in New Zealand, but I will let you know if I ever do. A quick research and I came across some jicama seeds from King Seeds so I might need to order some. I could get lost on their site as I would love to grow all sorts.

I will continue to keep you posted on how our garden is going. Please feel free to share any tips, ideas, or even what might be growing in your garden this year.

2 responses »

  1. Kia ora e hoa. Your courgettes looked amazing last year. I must plant some again this year too! So far I have planted my passionfruit, some strawberries, corriander, parsley and chives. I have cape gooseberries (yummy) and a thornless blackberry sitting in pots waiting waiting waiting for me to get around to it, not to mention all the seeds that are awaiting me. However I am also trying to work out how to make my garden work, I am uncertain where to put it or how to set it out. I will need to hurry up to make the most of the good spring weather 🙂 Now I’m off to check out Kings seeds. Thanks.

    • Thanks, Kim. Sounds like you are going to have some yummy fruit & veggies to enjoy this year. I think we need to add coriander & blackberries to our garden as well 🙂 Yum! Hopeful for some sunshine so that we can get our gardens sorted. Please keep us updated.

Leave a Reply

