Avocado Corn Salsa

Standard

Chopped Avocado, Onion, Coriander (Cilantro), & Tomato

Mix coriander, onion, tomato, & organic corn

Add Avocado

     As a salad, wrap filling, infused with quinoa (keen-wa), salsa, as a base to add beans and other ingredients. There are endless possibilities of how to eat this fresh avocado corn salsa. At a work team building get together, I tried some sort of corn tomato salsa. I cannot exactly remember what was in it, but it tasted very fresh and yummy scooped onto rice crackers. Not too sure if I even needed the crackers as there was far more salsa piled on top. Since then, I have been thinking about making it, and somehow ended up with this mix that came together nicely. Chopped avocado, coriander (cilantro), onion, tomato, and organic corn. You can make it as simple or complicated as you like. I chose to add avocado as it is a very healthy fat full of goodness. Feel free to be creative and use ingredients from your kitchen or garden, and even keep it healthy and raw as is or wrapped inside some greens.

     Growing up in California, I grew to love salsa. Especially spicy salsa. Yes, I will admit that when I was little I was known for only taking the chips and dipping it into the salsa juice. I did get a few laughs from my family. Over time, I grew to love the veggies, too :). This salsa is a little bit sweeter with the corn, but it is a good variation nonetheless. In my wandering journey throughout the health food section at the supermarket, I found a few new products that I would not normally buy, but I was more curious than anything. Gluten-free, no preservatives, no artificial colours or flavours, and something called Crostini that resembles bruschetta. What is the difference? From what I can quickly gather, crostini is a smaller thinner version of bruschetta. Anyways, my curiosity of crostini and recreating a corn salsa led me to this…

Salsa Crostini

     Meanwhile, cheeky Zaedyn was hungry. I looked down to find him helping himself to my Nashi pear which was just about as big as him. There were a few moments of funny faces with uncertainty about the pear skin, but that did not stop him. He continued to sit there and munch away.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

