Incredible Edibles: Garden of Passionfruit

Standard

Passionfruit vines spreading across my fence in full bloom with heaps of fruit waiting to be eaten. Oh how I wish this was what my garden looked like! Instead, I have a decreasing bank account with passionfruit at $30 NZD or more per kg and a sad looking passionfruit vine surrounded by weeds in my garden. However, a new passionfruit plant was brought to work today for me from Tidy Gardens. I was unbelievably excited by this surprise. Not having had much success with my previous location of passionfruit, I have been determined to replant some in hope to have full vines of fruit to live off.

I had never tasted passionfruit before coming to New Zealand. I was a bit uncertain about this fruit as one of the first things I was told was that they tasted the best when they were wrinkled and yuck looking on the outside. Now I am fussy when it comes to fruit, and I am pretty good at examining what it looks like before eating it. Regardless, my curiosity urged me to try passionfruit and feijoa together for the first time a few years ago. I am not exactly sure of my first reaction to the taste as I was just excited to be trying something new. Since then, I seem to hunt out passionfruit before they are really coming into season and continue to find ones late in the season. At work the other girls were given chocolate bunnies for Easter. Instead, I received beautiful flowers in a kete with apples and yummy passionfruit. It is pretty safe to say that passionfruit is one of my favourite fruits alongside coconuts. Not to mention the awkward silence and loud crunching noises I make when chewing passionfruit seeds.

Passionfruit for Easter Prezzy

To think my day couldn’t get any better, Katrina is also going to bring in some Nasturtium seeds for me. I have had great intentions of growing edible flowers in the past, but have somehow never managed to fully develop my garden to incorporate these. How beautiful these are going to look on top of a salad, and yummy, too. I can’t wait to see what Zaedyn is going to think. He loves to go out in the garden and pick flowers to eat, edible or not. In time, we will have to teach him about wilderness survival and edibility, but for now he can grow up in a backyard full of edible flowers, fruits, and vegetables. Even the possibility of this awesome bean tipi.

At the moment, parsley seems to be the only thing growing. Lucky for our rabbit, Kai, who loves to eat parsley. I cannot wait for some sunny weather and time to spend tidying up our garden and planting my passionfruit along with some other incredible edibles. Look out for some future blog updates on my beautiful garden to be.

Zaedyn loves to eat passionfruit, too!

Leave a Reply

